Logo of the Research Centre of the CHU de Québec Logo Laval University

Services

Sample preparation

Sample preparation

The Proteomics Platform is fully equiped to perform a large variety of manipulation on your samples to optimize the quality of your proteomics experiments. This includes protein extraction from various media (cell, tissue, biofluids, etc.); tryptic digestion of the proteins, either in-gel (a process optimized on our robotic station), on beads or in solution; enrichment steps, like serum depletion or phosphopeptide enrichment using TiO2; purification steps, like desalting or deglycosylation; offline peptide fractionation by high-pH reverse phase chromatography; and protein labelling by iTRAQ or TMT.

If you have any question or request regarding the protocols that are used for your samples, please contact us. For a list of upstream protocols (for example, gel staining) that are compatible with mass spectrometry, look here. For information on the cost of some specific sample preparation steps, take a look here.

Protein Identification

Protein identification on a Triple TOF 5600+ (SCIEX)

A mass spectrometry 'bottom up' or 'shutgun' protein identification provides an overview of the protein content of a sample: in complex samples, thousands of proteins are routinely identified. Our typical workflow involves digesting the proteins with trypsin, then injecting the digested peptides into a capillary HPLC system linked to a high resolution and high accuracy mass spectrometer (currently, a TripleTOF 5600+ or an Orbitrap Fusion). The results are then interpreted by specialized software to provide statistically validated matches between observed spectra and identified peptides and list of proteins. Results are returned in a 'Scaffold' document, which allow the experimental dataset to be explored and visualized within the intuitive Scaffold Viewer from Proteome Software. This high-quality visualization software is free, runs on Windows, Mac and Linux, and provides useful export to text or Excel formats.

The Proteomics Platform has a large variety of mass spectrometers and analysis software. This allows us to use an identification workflow tailored to the specificity of your samples and your scientific hypotheses. Contact us to design a proteomics experiments for your project.

Study of post-translational modifications (PTM)

Loading the Orbitrap Fusion HPLC

Some common post-translational modifications (PTM) can be readily observed from a protein identification experiment. These biologically important modifications include phosphorylation, methylation, acetylation, ubiquitinylation, etc. We can specifically search for any modification that has a single form (and thus a single mass) in a protein identification experiment.

However, the modification stoichiometry is often low, so if you are specifically interested in studying post-translational modifications, some steps might be needed. If you want to confirm a known modification site or verify a specific potential modification site, we recommend that you tell us so in advance and send us your protein sequence and the location of the site of interest. We will then be able to target the peptide bearing the modification during LC/MS/MS analysis. It often happens that a modified peptide does not get fragmented because it is much less abundant than its non-modified counterparts, but by targeting preferentially the modified peptide mass for fragmentation, we increase the probability of acquiring an MS/MS spectrum for the modified form of peptide. Some enrichment steps can also maximise the observation of certain type of modifications. For example, phosphopeptide enrichment with titanium dioxide beads can be provided to identify a larger amount of phosphopeptides.

Post-translational modifications that have many forms, like glycosylations, are particularly challenging for mass spectrometry. We are currently working on a protocol aimed at the identification and quantification of glycosylation. If you are interested studying glycosylation, please contact us.

Quantitative proteomics

QTRAP 6500 (SCIEX)

Being able to compare the concentration of a given protein in samples from different conditions, or to measure the absolute quantity of a protein in a given condition, are central to many scientific investigations. Our platform offers absolute or relative quantification from targeted proteomics as well as a variety of relative quantification techniques from label-free approaches (MS1 precursor intensity, data independent acquisition, SWATH) or label-based approaches (iTRAQ, TMT, SILAC).

Targeted proteomics (MRM/SRM)

Targeted proteomics is the gold standard of protein quantification, and the sole technique that can provide an 'absolute' measure of a protein abundance. Selected peptides that are unique to the protein of interest are specifically targeted by our most sensitive mass spectrometer (currently the QTRAP 6500). For absolute quantification, synthetic peptides containing a stable isotopically labelled amino acid are used as standards. (Note that, for each protein that we want to quantify, the choice of peptides need to be optimized to increase the sensitivity of the assay).

In traditional MRM/SRM, up to 50 proteins can be quantified in a single run. We have also optimsed PRM (Parallel Reaction Monitoring) on the Orbitrap Fusion. This technique can be an interesting alternative to MRM for targeted proteomics on a greater number of proteins.

Label-based quantification

Label-based quantification methods use isotopic labelling to distinguish the signal from samples of different conditions that are analysed simultaneously. The signals from the isotopes are then compared to indicate the ratio of a given peptide accross different conditions. The Proteomics Platform offers label-based quantification based on iTRAQ reagents from Sciex (up to 8 conditions), TMT reagents from Thermo (up to 10 conditions).

Our iTRAQ/TMT relative quantification analytical package includes: protein extraction, digestion by trypsin, peptide labeling with iTRAQ/TMT reagents, labeled peptide separation by high pH reverse phase chromatography (14 in general but can change upon sample complexity) , analysis on orbitrap Fusion mass spectrometer and, finally, identification and quantification of the proteins using state-of-the-art bioinformatics. The report delivered to the researcher details all the proteins detected and identified in the submitted extract and their relative abundance in each of the experimental conditions tested. We can provide the same service for SILAC, except that in this case, the labeling will have to be done by the lab that grows the cells.

Label-free quantification

Label-free techniques for relative protein quantification are more and more popular and they don't require standards or isotopic labels (although they still require replicates). One way to perform label-free protein quantification is based on calculating the area under the curve of the MS1 precursor (peptide) and comparing its intensity to the intensity of the same precursor from another condition. Long chromatography runs (2 to 5 hours) can be performed for this approach. The MaxQuant software is then used for data analysis. This strategy is good for low complexity samples such as those obtained from immunoprecipitation, pull-down, etc.

Data Independent Acquisition (including SWATH) is a family of approaches that enables concurrent detection and quantification of (potentially) all analytes in the sample. It involves setting the mass spectrometer to repeatedly scan through the complete observable mass range. This strategy is good for low and medium complexity samples. Look at our article Bourassa et al. 2015 for more information.

Rapid peptide characterization

MALDI TOF-TOF 4800 (SCIEX)

For rapid peptide characterization or sequence confirmation on sample of low complexity, the MALDI technology can be used on our MALDI TOF-TOF 4800 mass spectrometer. Samples are deposited on a plate (with a matrix) and ionized by a laser beam for a very high experimental throughput which is especially adapted for validation on a large number of samples.

MALDI Imaging

MALDI Imaging on Synapt G2-SI (Waters)

The Proteomics Platform, in collaboration with the PRISM lab of Lille University, is currently developing protocols for MALDI imaging on a Synapt G2-SI. This technique allows the visualization of the spacial distribution of proteins and other molecules on a thin slice of tissue. This can help understand disease progression or drug delivery processes.

Statistical or functional bioinformatics analysis

Any experiment performed by the Proteomics Platform includes all the bioinformatics analyses necessary to obtain validated lists of proteins and peptides from the experiment. But we can perform supplementary statistical or functional analyses to help you extract everything from your dataset and publish it in high impact journals.

Logo Centre de Recherche du CHU de Québec Logo Université Laval

Services

Préparation d'échantillons

Sample preparation

La Plateforme de Protéomique possède l'équipement nécessaire pour effectuer de multiples traitements sur vos échantillons pour optimiser la qualité des expériences protéomiques. Cela inclut l'extraction des protéines à partir de sources variées (cellules, tissus, fluides biologiques, etc.); la digestion à la trypsine des protéines, que ce soit en gel (un procédé optimisé sur notre station robotisée), sur billes ou en solution; les étapes d'enrichissement comme la déplétion du sérum ou l'enrichissement des phosphopeptides à l'aide de TiO2; les étapes de purification comme la déglycosylation ou le dessalage; la séparation des peptides hors-ligne par chromatographie en phase inversée en haut pH; le marquage isobarique des protéines par iTRAQ ou TMT.

Si vous avez des questions ou des requêtes concernant les protocoles qui seront utilisés pour vos échantillons, s'il-vous-plaît contactez-nous. Pour plus d'information sur les coûts associés à certaines étapes spécifiques de préparation, consultez nos prix.

Identification de protéines

Protein identification on a Triple TOF 5600+ (SCIEX)

Une identification de protéine par spectrométrie de masse dite 'bottom up' ou 'shotgun' fournit une bonne image du contenu protéique d'un échantillon: dans des échantillons complexes, des milliers de protéines sont régulièrement identifiées. Notre processus typique inclut la digestion des protéines à la trypsine, l'injection des peptides digérés dans un système HPLC (high pressure liquid chromatography) couplé à un spectromètre de masse à haute résolution et haute précision (présentement, un TripleTOF 5600+ ou un Orbitrap Fusion). Les résultats sont ensuite interprétés par des logiciels spécialisés pour fournir la liste des peptides associés aux spectres ms2 et des protéines associées à ces peptides. Les résultats sont fournis dans un document "Scaffold", qui permet l'exploration et la visualisation du jeu de données dans le visualisateur gratuit de Proteome Software. Le visualisateur Scaffold est un logiciel de haute qualité qui est disponible gratuitement pour la visualisation des jeux de données et qui est compatible avec les systèmes d'exploitation Windows, Mac et Linux. Ce logiciel permet aussi d'exporter les résultats en format texte ou Excel.

La Plateforme de Protéomique dispose de plusieurs spectromètres de masses et de plusieurs logiciels d'analyse, ce qui nous permet de construire des pipelines d'analyses parfaitement ajustés à vos échantillons et vos hypothèses scientifiques. Contactez-nous pour établir le plan d'une expérience de protéomique pour votre projet de recherche.

Étude des modifications post traductionnelles (PTM)

Loading the Orbitrap Fusion HPLC

Certaines modifications post-traductionnelles (PTM) peuvent être observées lors d'une expérience d'identification de protéines par spectrométrie de masse. Ces modifications incluent des PTMs qui jouent des rôles biologiques importants comme les phosphorylations, acétylations, méthylations, ubiquitinylations, etc. Cependant, la stoichiométrie de la modification est souvent basse et il est fréquent que la forme modifiée du peptide ne soit pas fragmentée puisqu'elle est beaucoup moins abondante que la forme non modifiée. Si vous voulez confirmer un site précis de modification ou vérifier un site de modification potentiel, nous vous suggérons de nous en avertir à l'avance et de nous envoyer la séquence de la protéine et le site d'intérêt. Nous pourrons alors cibler spécifiquement le peptide modifié durant l'analyse: en choississant préférentiellement la masse du peptide modifié pour fragmentation, le spectromètre augmente beaucoup la probabilité d'acquérir un spectre MS/MS pour cette forme du peptide.

Des étapes d'enrichissement peuvent aussi maximiser l'observation de certains types de modifications. Par exemple, un enrichissement des phosphopeptides sur billes au dioxide de titane augmentera la couverture des phosphopeptides observés.

Certaines modifications post-traductionnelles, comme les glycosylations, peuvent prendre plusieurs formes. L'identification de ces modifications pose un défi particulier pour la spectrométrie de masse. La Plateforme de Protéomique développe présentement un protocole pour l'identification et la quantification des glycosylations. Si l'étude des glycosylations est importante pour votre projet de recherche, contactez-nous.

Protéomique quantitative

QTRAP 6500 (SCIEX)

La comparaison des concentrations de protéines entre des échantillons de différentes conditions et la mesure de la concentration spécifique d'une protéine occupent une place centrale dans plusieurs projets de recherche. La Plateforme de Protéomique offre des services de quantification relative ou absolue par protéomique ciblée de même qu'une variété de protocols pour la quantification relative par marquage isobarique (iTRAQ, TMT, SILAC) et par approche sans marquage (mesure de l'intensité de l'ion précurseur, approche SWATH et DIA).

Protéomique ciblée (MRM/SRM ou PRM)

La protéomique ciblée par SRM ou MRM (Single Reaction Monitoring ou Multiple Reaction Monitoring) est la référence pour la quantification de protéine et elle est la seule technique de spectrométrie de masse permettant une mesure absolue de la quantité d'une protéine. Dans cette technique, des peptides de la protéine d'intérêt sont exclusivement ciblés par notre spectromètre de masse le plus sensible (présentement, un QTRAP 6500). Cela permet une quantification relative très fiable et très sensible. Pour une quantification absolue, des peptides synthétiques marqués isotopiquement sont ajoutés et utilisés comme standards. (À noter: pour chaque protéine ciblée, le choix des peptides peut devoir être optimisé pour augmenter la sensibilité du test.)

Lors d'une expérience traditionnelle de SRM ou MRM, jusqu'à 50 protéines peuvent être quantifiées en une seule injection. Nous avons aussi optimisé un protocole de PRM (Parallel Reaction Monitoring) sur notre Orbitrap Fusion. Cette technique peut être une alternative intéressante au MRM pour la protéomique ciblée sur un nombre plus important de protéines.

Quantification par marquage isobarique

La quantification par marquage isobarique utilise des isotopes pour différencier les signaux générés par des échantillons de différentes conditions analysés simultanément sur le spectromètre. Ces signaux sont ensuite comparés pour obtenir le ratio des concentrations d'une protéine dans différentes conditions. La Plateforme de Protéomique offre la quantification basée sur marquage par réactif iTRAQ de Sciex (qui permet de comparer jusqu'à 8 conditions) et par réactif TMT de Thermo (qui permet de comparer jusqu'à 10 conditions).

Notre forfait de quantification par marquage iTRAQ ou TMT inclut l'extraction des protéines et la digestion tryptique, le marquage des peptides avec réactifs iTRAQ ou TMT, la séparation hors-ligne des peptides marqués par chromatographie en phase inversée à haut pH (en général, 14 fractions sont générées, mais cela peut être ajusté en fonction de la complexité de l'échantillon), l'analyse sur un spectromètre Orbitrap Fusion et l'identification et la quantification des protéines par des logiciels bioinformatiques. Les résultats générés détaillent les protéines identifiées et leur abondance relative dans chacune des conditions testées. Nous pouvons fournir le même service pour la quantification par marquage SILAC, à la différence que le marquage devra alors être fait par l'équipe qui cultive les cellules.

Quantification sans marquage

Les techniques de quantification relative sans marquage sont de plus en plus populaires et elles ne requièrent pas l'utilisation de standard ou d'isotopes. Une façon d'obtenir une quantification relative des protéines consiste à comparer les aires sous la courbe des ions précurseurs associés à des peptides identifiés dans les conditions comparées. Des chromatographies plus longues (2 à 5 heures) peuvent être effectuées pour maximiser l'efficacité de cette approche. Le logiciel MaxQuant est ensuite utilisé pour analyser les données de ce type. Cette stratégie est bien adaptée pour des échantillons peu complexes, comme ceux obtenus par immunoprécipitation par exemple.

Une nouvelle famille d'approches dites "Data Independent Acquisition" (ce qui inclut la technique SWATH) permettent la détection et la quantification de (potentiellement) tous les analytes présents dans l'échantillon. Cette famille de techniques implique de programmer le spectromètre de masse pour balayer à répétition la plage complète des ratio m/z détectables. Cette stratégie est appropriés pour les échantillons peu ou moyennement complexes. Jetez un coup d'oeil à cet article pour une comparaison des méthodes de quantifications SWATH et iTRAQ: Bourassa et al. 2015.

Caractérisation rapide de peptides

MALDI TOF-TOF 4800 (SCIEX)

Pour une caractérisation rapide d'un peptide ou la confirmation de la séquence de peptides dans un échantillon peu complexe, la technologie MALDI peut être utilisée sur notre spectromètre MALDI TOF-TOF 4800. Les échantillons sont alors déposés sur plaque avec une matrice ionisante et sont ionisés par laser. Cette technique permet de réaliser des pipelines d'analyse à très grand débit qui sont particulièrement appropriés pour les études de validation sur de très nombreux échantillons.

Imagerie MALDI

MALDI Imaging on Synapt G2-SI (Waters)

La Plateforme de Protéomique, en collaboration avec le Laboratoire PRISM de l'Université de Lille, développe présentement de nouveaux protocoles pour l'imagerie MALDI sur un Synapt G2-SI. La technique d'imagerie MALDI permet de visualiser la distribution spatiale des protéines (et d'autres molécules) sur une fine tranche de tissu. Une telle visualisation est extrêmement utile pour comprendre la progression de certains cancers ou les processus d'action des médicaments.

Analyse bioinformatiques, statistiques ou d'enrichissement fonctionnel

Toutes les expériences d'identification et de quantification réalisées à la Plateforme de Protéomique incluent les analyses bioinformatiques nécessaires pour obtenir des listes validées de protéines et de peptides. Mais nous pouvons aussi réaliser des analyses supplémentaires pour vous permettre d'extraire le maximum d'information de vos données et vous aider à publier vos résultats dans des revues scientifiques à haut facteur d'impact.